The 2001 Blazing Reel Film Awards

THE 2001 BLAZING REEL FILM AWARDS.png

2001 is a year I really like. It isn’t one of my favorite cinematic years or anything but overall I think it has a nice balance of a bit of everything. It had a few really great mind-benders that were obviously too smart for the Academy, one of which was made by David Lynch and was, without a shadow of  a doubt his magnum opus. It had some really sweet and heartwarming comedies, the only musical I’ve seen that I found to be quite bearable and watchable and a number of searing dramas, including one I really love, which just narrowly missed my Best Film ballot.

Also, I’ve finally updated my ballots for the 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014 Blazing Reel Film Awards with better and more polished graphics as well as a few updated nominees and winners and I’d love it if you guys checked them out.

BEST MUSIC 2001.png

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY 2001.png

best adapted screenplay 2001.png

best original screenplay 2001.png

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS 2001.png

best-supporting-actor-2001

BEST ACTRESS 2001.png

best-actor-2001

best-director-2001

best-film-2001

-Khalid

14 responses to “The 2001 Blazing Reel Film Awards

  1. 2001 was a great year for cinema. Two of my favorite films, A.I. and Mulholland Drive, came out that year, plus we also got The Piano Teacher, Royal Tennenbaums, and The Man Who Wasn’t There.

    Like

    • A great year indeed. I’m actually not the biggest fan of A.I though I certainly admire it a great deal.
      Piano Teacher, I actually really hate.
      And The Man Who Wasn’t There is a really underrated Coens flick that was definitely very high up in my ballot. Just not final five.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sigh. I guess I’m the guy…THAT guy, the one who just didn’t get Mulholland Dr. I’m fully willing to admit that it, and David Lynch, are far too smart for me. Not a fan. I’ve been told numerous times I need to see it again. The problem with that is the first watch was not only deeply perplexing, I didn’t find it enjoyable. On the other hand, my head was also twisted into knots by Donnie Darko, but I actually liked that one. I’d go back to that in a heartbeat. Mulholland Dr., not so much. Neither would make my ballot for Best Pic of ’01.

    Glad to see the love for Sexy Beast, very underrated flick. Love the noms for Ocean’s Eleven, Training Day, and Black Hawk Down.

    Sadly, I still need to see a number of your noms so my own ballot would look different. As of now, it would look like this…

    Ocean’s Eleven
    Blow
    Training Day
    Y Tu Mama Tambien
    Shrek

    I’m leaning towards Y Tu or Shrek as my winner. Yes, I’m serious.

    I’d definitely find room for Will Smith in Best Actor for Ali and would strongly consider Jamie Foxx for Supporting in the same movie.

    Finally, thank you for NOT nominating Halle Berry for Monster’s Ball. I know she won the Oscar, but I thought she was pretty bad in it.

    Like

    • Lol. I do not get the appeal surrounding Shrek. Like what is it about that movie that people like so much? The second one was even nominated for a Palme d’Or.
      And I understand your complaints around both Donnie Darko and Mulholland Dr. and they are fair complaints, but I guess I’m just one of those people who likes to appreciate movies like these even more on repeated viewings.
      Not the biggest fan of Ali. Or of Will Smith and Jamie Foxx’s performances

      Like

      • For me, Shrek is a perfect deconstruction and/or subversion of just about every fairy tale trope there is. It’s also incredibly self aware about what it’s doing. Those things are right up my alley. When you add in one of the few truly body-positive messages in major kiddie flicks and I am completely sold.

        For movies like Mulholland Drive, I don’t mind repeat viewings if the first is enjoyable. For instance, I will likely watch the recent mind-bender Enemy several more times. It was a fun watch the first time whether I got it or not. That said, I actually do plan in seeing MD again, at some point. I keep putting it off because I dread putting myself through that again.

        Like

      • I can understand your thoughts on both films, but I guess, I never particularly liked even that self-aware side of Shrek.
        Can’t say I’ll be watching Enemy ever, in my life again because of my fear of spiders.

        Like

  3. Quite a few here I haven’t seen Khalid, but love your nominations of Moulin Rouge in Cinematography & LOTR in Music. I haven’t seen In The Bedroom but Wilkinson is a terrific actor so I’m sure he’s fantastic in it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

