Dirty Grandpa (2016)

dirty grandpa review

About 16 years ago, Robert De Niro stopped caring. The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle had just come out and it was a critical and commercial bomb and many people had come to the conclusion that De Niro had reached the point of his career where he was just going to work for the paycheck. And you know what? it was okay. We thought he had done enough to earn our respect over the years and there was no way he was going to make anything that would make us respect him any less.

But after watching Dirty Grandpa I do think I will have trouble watching Robert De Niro in anything, respect is a completely different thing.

Mere words cannot describe how utterly horrible this movie is or how horrible De Niro is in it, but I’ll try anyway. It is…

awful, abysmal, terrible, deplorable, appalling, atrocious, horrendous, vile, dreadful, repugnant, disgusting, offensive, wretched, revolting and just really, really, really, really bad.

dirty grandpa

The plot of the movie revolves around Jason Kelly (Zac Efron), an uptight guy who is about to be married and is tricked by his recently widowed grandfather played by Robert De Niro into driving him to Florida for Spring Break. Now you must be a little confused. Why would an old guy like Robert De Niro want to celebrate Spring Break? Because apparently De Niro plays a horny old man who – and I’m quoting him here – just wants to; ”fuck, fuck, fuck”.

What follows is basically one disgusting gross-out gag after another that appalls and disgusts in equal amounts.

This is a movie that makes a gag about child molestation, casual jokes about rape, it is a movie that genuinely made me want to bathe myself in bleach simply because of how unclean and filthy I felt after watching it. It is without doubt the most disgusting thing I have seen since Movie 43 and I had pretty much the same reaction I had after watching Movie 43, which was, what exactly does the director have on these actors that would make them want to do something like this?

I did laugh once though, for about thirty seconds which is why I can’t give it a zero so I will say it’s slightly better than Movie 43, which was a zero.

0.5/10

-Khalid

14 responses to “Dirty Grandpa (2016)

  1. Great review and another reason why I will not watch this film, even though I usually make myself watch terrible movies for the ability to make a well rounded worst of the year list. I just can’t bear to see De Niro fall this far.

    Like

  2. The trailers of this look terrible. Yet it is playing five times a day at my local cinema, while stuff like The Hateful Eight and The Revenant are only playing twice a day. Its a tiny place, yet this shit is playing five times a day. That worries me

    Like

    • Apparently this is the stuff that brings out the most people. But boy is it terrible.
      And its an absolute shame that its playing more than those two films, since they’re actually good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

