The 2014 Blazing Reel Film Awards

THE 2014 BLAZING REEL FILM AWARDS.png

Wow. WHAT. A .YEAR. 2014 may quite possibly be my favorite year ever because the cinematic brilliance on offer this year was absolutely incredible. It’s one of the reason I was forced to extend my Best Film line-up to six films for the first time because I believed everyone of those six films absolutely deserved Β to be there. Surprisingly enough, this was also one of the few years when I think the Academy absolutely got it right, though Richard Linklater’s rather boring twelve year experiment came frightfully close. Thankfully, it was not to be. But hey, enough chit chat. Without further ado, I present the 2014 Blazing Reel Film Awards!

BEST MUSIC 2014.png

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY 2014.png

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY 2014.png

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY 2014.png

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS 2014.png

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR 2014.png

BEST ACTRESS 2014.png

BEST ACTOR 2014.png

BEST DIRECTOR 2014.png

BEST FILM 2014.png

-Khalid

25 responses to “The 2014 Blazing Reel Film Awards

    • I agree, Whiplash was a big surprise, it came out of nowhere but Birdman for me, was such a unique experience. It reminded me why I love watching movies. Everything about that movie was perfect in my eyes.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. YASSSSS!!! Mommy in so many categories gives me life, and so happy to see Birdman rank so high as well. LOVE LOVE LOVE the Gyllenhaal nom. I was really close to throwing her back in my top five as well.

    Liked by 2 people

    • πŸ˜€ I really liked Mommy and I think it really deserved these nominations.
      Birdman is hand down, my favorite film of 2014 and as well as one of my all-time favorites.

      Like

  2. Another great awards show, Khalid. I have to see Mommy now! Thanks for pointing that out. I liked a lot of your nominations. It’s great to see Frank and Inherent Vice on here. It’s tough but my fav movie here is either Nightcrawler or Whiplash.

    My pick for best film for 2014 is Under the Skin, which I’d also nominate for score, cinematography, and directing. Scarlett Johansson was so good, but actress is a tough category already.

    I hope you continue this series, perhaps highlighting other decades.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Dan. I do plan to continue this series up to at least the 1960’s. But that’s a long way down the road. Glad you like the nominations, I’m not to big a fan of Under the Skin which is why it didn’t get any nominations. Mommy is heavily recommended.
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great post! You have some incredible choices here. I must say that I liked Whiplash a heck of a lot. Probably more than Birdman, but I still appreciated Birdman. I also feel like I need to revisit 84, 99 and 07. Some great observations!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really fun post. I thought 2014 was pretty good. Wasn’t a huge fan of Birdman but loved Interstellar and Boyhood. Cap America was also a ton of fun.

    But…on to my choices out of your nominees:

    Best Music – Interstellar
    Cinematography – Lubezki (Birdman)
    Adapt. Screenplay – Snowpiercer
    Original Screenplay – Grand Budapest
    Supporting Actress – Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)
    Supporting Actor – Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
    Actress – Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
    Actor – Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
    Director – Anderson (Grand Budapest)
    Film – Interstellar

    Liked by 1 person

    • I liked both Boyhood and Cap America 2 but I wasn’t all that impressed by them as I was by many other films.
      Almost all your picks are my runners-up. If Birdman hadn’t released this year, my winners would look a lot like this.

      Like

  5. Pingback: The 2001 Blazing Reel Film Awards | The Blazing Reel·

Leave a Reply

