The 2013 Blazing Reel Film Awards

THE 2013 BLAZING REEL FILM AWARDS

Looking back, 2013 was a year I was left quite disappointed by. I mean sure, there were a a lot of good films, but that’s the thing they were just good. And though there were more than a few great films, largely there was just a lot of blandness. Oscar-wise, it was more of the same. The Academy yet again went with a ‘safe’ movie. Not to say 12 Years A Slave wasn’t good, it was quite powerful infact. But at the end of the day, it’s a film I probably won’t remember and one that won’t resonate with me particularly much. But like I said, greatness was definitely there to be found in 2013. Even if it was pretty scarce.

BEST MUSIC 2013.png

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY 2013

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY 2013

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY 2013

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS 2013.png

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR 2013.png

BEST ACTRESS 2013.png

BEST ACTOR 2013

BEST DIRECTOR 2013.png

BEST FILM 2013.png

-Khalid

24 responses to “The 2013 Blazing Reel Film Awards

  1. Nice! Love seeing nods for ScarJo and Mikkelsen. Did you get to see Laurence Anyways before posting these? I’m interested to know your thoughts, if you did, since it’s absent here.

    Like

    • Yes I have. I thought it was okay, I admired the subject-matter that Dolan wanted to explore with it but I wasn’t all that compelled while watching it. I really liked Suzanne Clement’s performance but I think the run-time really hurt the film.

      Like

  2. Nice, but Springbreakers for award, it was awful. i wasn’t the biggest fan of wolf as a film but can’t ignore the performances, i think The Hunt is the best film on your lists

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My Year in Film – 2013 | The Blazing Reel·

  4. These are sooo much fun. So here I go again choosing strictly the the nominees you present:

    Cinematography – Lubezki (Gravity)
    Adapted Screenplay – I honestly don’t know between these!
    Original Screenplay – The Hunt
    Supporting Actress – Squib (Nebraska) I guess
    Supporting Actor – Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
    Actress – Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
    Actor – Mads Mikkelsen (The Hunt)
    Director – Cuaron (Gravity)
    Best Film – Gravity

    I think our biggest difference can probably be found in The Wolf of Wall Street – a movie I simply couldn’t finish. I do love Gravity and The Hunt!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great picks. I really loved TWOWS personally. I’ve never seen Scorsese make a movie this funny. It was actually the exact opposite for me while watching the movie, the run-time was a breeze because I found the film so entertaining.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your yearly awards articles! You have some bold selections here. I like Springbreakers for cinematography. Franco was worthy too. It was great to Prisoners on your list. It was really impressive thriller with complicated ethics.

    I definitely liked 12 Years more than you 😉 But now I’m looking forward to The Hunt. I enjoyed that actor in Refn’s Valhalla Rising. My fav film of 2013 is Fruitvale Station. I’d nominate Jordan for lead actor too.

    Overall, I really dug your nominees and winners. Looking forward to the next article!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Dan. I’m doing the 2014 awards tomorrow so do check them out. Glad you agree on Prisoners and Spring Breakers. Franco just narrowly missed my Top 5.
      I would have 12 Years A Slave in my Top 10 for 2013 but it’s not a movie I’d consider rewatching or remember after a few years.
      Not much of a fan of Valhalla Rising but I think you’ll definitely enjoy The Hunt if you like hard-hitting dramas. And Mikkelsen is of course brilliant in it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: The 2001 Blazing Reel Film Awards | The Blazing Reel·

Leave a Reply

